HomeLearningBScs & MScsEuroTeQ Engineering University

EuroTeQ Engineering University

EuroTeQ Engineering University is a so-called “European University” funded under the European Commission’s Erasmus+ scheme.

The aim of the European Universities Initiative is to bring together a new generation of creative Europeans able to cooperate across languages, borders and disciplines to address societal challenges and skills shortages faced in Europe.

EuroTeQ Engineering University in particular has the goal to shape the engineering education of the future.

The project was officially launched on 1 November 2020 and will run for three years. Find detailed information about it on our dedicated website:

What makes EuroTeQ Engineering University special?

  • Individually designed curricula and innovative teaching formats
    We will establish a joint engineering sciences study programme across different disciplines as well as across national and institutional boundaries, reaching well beyond individual technologies. Modern engineering education should provide students not only with in-depth technical knowledge but also with an extended educational horizon, an entrepreneurial mindset and socio-political sensitivity. Students will be able to design their curricula in line with their learning objectives and career aspirations and benefit from new digital and challenge-based learning formats as well as from mobility between the universities. 
  • Open to academic and non-academic learners
    EuroTeQ Engineering University will not be restricted to students enrolled at the respective partner institutions. It will also be open to those who do not hold an academic degree (yet): vocational trainees pursuing a technical career and professionals who want to keep on learning in the spirit of “lifelong learning”.
  • Collaboration with key players outside academia
    A large number of companies, trade associations and further collaboration partners will enrich the learning experience. 45 of such partners are already on board. 

EuroTech? EuroTeQ?

EuroTech ≠ EuroTeQ. Yes, it can be confusing! If you are in doubt which is what, if they are the same and if not, what’s the difference, here is the explanation:

EuroTech Universities Alliance…

…is a strategic partnership that has been existing as a legal body already since 2011. But its roots go even back to 2006. The alliance is fully financed by its six member universities and doesn’t receive EU funding. It focuses on research, innovation, and education. Its members are:

EuroTeQ Engineering University…

…is an EU-funded project which comes out of the alliance and focuses mainly on education. The project partners overlap partly with the members of the alliance but not completely: Two project partners are not members of the alliance – CTU and TalTech. At the same time, the alliance members EPFL and Technion, being located in Switzerland and Israel respectively, were not eligible under the Erasmus+ call. They remain however closely attached to the project and participate at own cost wherever possible. The EuroTeQ project partners are:

CTU logo
TalTech logo