4 September 2020 | More than 3,200 researchers applied for the renowned Starting Grants 2020 of the European Research Council. Among the laureates are 14 excellent researchers from the six EuroTech Universities. Each of the EuroTech Universities counts at least one grantee. The funding will help these early-career scientists and scholars to build their own teams and conduct pioneering research across all disciplines. The grants are part of the EU’s Research and Innovation programme, Horizon 2020.

We wholeheartedly congratulate:

Karen Alim, Technical University of Munich
Panel: PE3
Flow network morphology as memory map: Principles of fluid flow driven dynamic memory in living tubular networks

Maartje Bastings, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Panel: PE5
Intracellular Action of DNA-based Nano-materials

Yehonadav Bekenstein, Technion Israel Institute of Technology
Panel: PE5
Halide perovskite heterostructures based on 2D nanoplates building blocks for next generation optoelectronics

Francesca Bellini, Technical University of Munich
Panel: PE2
Constraining cosmic antinuclei fluxes for indirect dark matter searches with precision measurements of rare antimatter cluster formation

Landry Bretheau, École Polytechnique
Panel: PE3
Manipulating single fermions with light in cQED architectures

Dominik Bucher, Technical University of Munich
Panel: PE4
Single-cell nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy with diamond quantum sensors

Veit Buchholz, Technical University of Munich
Panel: LS6
Roads to memory: Studying the regulation of lymphocyte stemness by fate mapping of single T and NK cells

Ruth Cardinaels, Eindhoven University of Technology
Panel: PE8
Polymeric Electromagnetic Metamaterials created by flow-induced Structure PRINTing

Spyridon Chatzivasileiadis, Technical University of Denmark
Panel: PE7
Verified physics-aware machine learning to transform non-linear power system stability and optimization

Alberto G. Curto, Eindhoven University of Technology
Panel: PE7
Chiral semiconductor nanophotonics for ultraresolved molecular sensing

Wenzel Jakob, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Panel: PE6
Unraveling the Physics of Light at Scale

Adriaan Mackus, Eindhoven University of Technology
Panel: PE5
From the bottom-up: a physico-chemical approach towards 3D nanostructures with atomic-scale control

Giulia Palermo, Technical University of Munich
Panel: PE4
Computational Investigations of Allostery between Proteins and Nucleic Acids in CRISPR-Cas9

Manas Upadhyay, École Polytechnique
Panel: PE8
Harnessing solid-state thermal cycling to Guide microstructure evolution of Additively Manufactured Metallic Alloys

Find here the ERC press release and the full list of grantees. For more information about ERC Starting Grants, click here.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email