The Alliance is a strategic partnership of five leading European universities of science & technology: Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Ecole Polytechnique (L’X), Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e) and Technical University of Munich (TUM).

Together they are committed to finding technical solutions which address the major challenges of modern society. Their intensive collaboration across research, education & innovation support the EU’s goals of smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.



The EuroTech Universities Alliance was formally established in 2011. The Alliance is engaged in fostering a unique partnership built on trust and in-depth cooperation between leading universities of science & technology in Europe. It provides the framework for a combination of both strategic and bottom-up initiatives. The Alliance is able to address challenges on a scale that could not be achieved by any partner alone.



DTU and TUM engaged in a strategic collaborative arrangement, which saw the strengthening of bottom-up joint activities between the two universities


TU/e joined DTU and TUM in their European Alliance


EPFL joined the Alliance and the Presidents of the four partner universities signed the contract on the “Establishment of a Strategic Alliance between universities of excellence”


Establishment of the Alliance’s Brussels office

L’X joins the Alliance



The EuroTech Universities Alliance’s organizational structure and governance reflects its collaborative nature. It builds on strong institutional relationships, mutual trust and the common strategic goal of providing technical solutions to address the grand societal challenges.

The main elements of the collaboration are strong research networks, extensive educational collaboration frameworks and strong ties between managing and administrative levels and the Brussels office.

Governance model_website


The Presidents of the EuroTech Universities meet annually to provide the overall strategic direction for the Alliance and define key initiatives. The chairmanship rotates annually between the Presidents.

100x120_Bjarklev_dtu Technical University of Denmark – DTU
President Professor Anders Overgaard Bjarklev
martin2009 École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne – EPFL
President Professor Martin Vetterli
École Polytechnique – L’X
President Eric Labaye
Mengelers_100x120 Eindhoven University of Technology – TU/e
President Jan Mengelers
100x120_TUM-Herrmann Technische Universität München – TUM
President Professor Wolfgang A. Herrmann

Governing Board

The Governing Board is responsible for implementing the strategic vision of the Presidents. It decides on the roadmap and budget for Alliance activities, including the Brussels Office. The Governing Board meets three to four times per year, in order to ensure quick and flexible decision-making and continuous strategic advice to the Alliance’s projects and activities.

Technical University of Denmark – DTU
Executive Vice President and Provost Rasmus Larsen

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne – EPFL
Vice President for Education Professor Pierre Vandergheynst
École Polytechnique  – L’X
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research Professor Frank Pacard
École Polytechnique  – L’X
Vice President for Marketing and International Relations Rachel Maguer
tonbackx Eindhoven University of Technology – TU/e
Director International Scientific Relations Professor Ton Backx
tum_keidel_hannemor Technische Universität München – TUM
Delegate Officer for the Strategic Alliances Dr Hannemor Keidel


Operations Board

The Operations Board is responsible for the day-to-day management and implementation of Alliance activities. It monitors, develops and co-ordinates projects and activities and is the first point of contact for interested colleagues and students at the respective university.


Operations Board members and contact

Brussels Office

The Brussels Office is responsible for ensuring that the EuroTech Universities’ activities are informed by the EU policy and funding landscape. The staff consists of a Head of Office and a Deputy, as well as of a Liaison Officer for each of the four partner universities. The Brussels office is the first point of contact for EU stakeholders and for university staff interested in engaging in EU policy or funding programmes.


Brussels Office staff and partner Liaison Officers

Brussels Office

The EuroTech Universities Alliance Brussels office was officially inaugurated in October 2012. The role of the Brussels office is to provide an interface between developments at EU level and the cooperative activities of the Alliance.

The Brussels office ensures that the development of the Alliance is fully informed by the evolving EU policy and funding landscape in the fields of research, education and innovation. The Brussels office is also actively involved in the targeted dissemination of the EuroTech Universities’ activities to key EU stakeholders, including the EU institutions.


The demonstrable excellence of the EuroTech Universities, their unique partnership and their significant participation in EU funding programmes provides the basis for a pro-active contribution to the EU policy making process. The Brussels office collaborates with the other four associations of European technical universities, CESAER, CLUSTER, IDEA League and Nordic Five Tech, in order to develop a stronger voice for technical universities in Europe.

The Brussels office coordinates the work of the “ERA in action” statement, which was submitted to the European Commissioner for Research & Innovation, Máire Geoghegan-Quinn in July 2013 and represents the Alliance’s commitment to the delivery of the European Research Area. The Brussels office also organises a series of high-level events to disseminate and discuss the EuroTech Universities’ individual and collective experience and expertise among key EU stakeholders.

In order to encourage joint proposals for EU funding programmes between its member universities, the Brussels office organizes “EuroTech EU Project Preparatory Workshops”. These workshops help to promote joint learning about the work and interests of colleagues across the EuroTech universities in a given domain and are effective in identifying opportunities for joint proposals to H2020.

“The EuroTech Universities Alliance is more than just a mere idea. The EuroTech office in Brussels offers the most adequate and comfortable scenario for bringing forward collaboration amongst the four universities. Being a newcomer to H2020 and a scientist at intermediate level, I’ve been encouraged by the great support and effort made by EuroTech officials, to submit three proposals.”

Stefanie Demirci, Chair for Computer Aided Medical Procedure & Augmented Reality at TUM